Regulatory Bodies

Financial Services Commission

The Financial Services Commission (FSC) was established as the regulator for the non-bank financial services sector under the Financial Services Development Act 2001. The FSC is the integrated regulator for the industry and its remit encompasses those of the former regulatory bodies for securities (Stock Exchange Commission), insurance (Insurance Division of the Ministry of Economic Development, Financial Services and Corporate Affairs) and global business (Mauritius Offshore Business Activities Authority).

The Commission thus licenses, regulates and supervises non-bank financial institutions in Mauritius.

The non-bank financial sector includes institutions involved in Insurance & Pensions, Capital Market operations, Leasing & Credit Finance as well as Global Business activities.

For more information, please contact:

The Financial Services Commission.
54, Cybercity
Ebene, Mauritius
Tel : (230) 403 7000
Fax: (230) 467 7172

The Bank of Mauritius

The Bank of Mauritius is the central bank in Mauritius. It has been set up as the authority which is responsible for the formulation and execution of monetary policy consistent with stable price conditions. It also has responsibility for safeguarding the stability and strengthening of the financial system of Mauritius. The main functions of the Bank include:-
  • Formulation and implementation of monetary policy
  • Issuer of currency
  • Banker to the Government and to banks
  • Provider of an efficient payment, settlement and clearing system
  • Management of the public debt
  • Management of foreign exchange reserves
  • Regulator and supervisor of banks
  • Adviser to the Government on financial matters.

For more information, you can contact:

Sir William Newton Street, Port Louis, Mauritius
Tel : (230) 2084164, Fax: 230 2089204